The Deception of ‘Sufism in Light of Quran and Sunnah’


I remember when I first came to England. I was a Traditional Muslim then, a Sunni with strong Sufi leanings. I believed that Islam (as I knew it) had the solution for the worlds problems and that only by the global caliphate can the world be in a positive state.  Conveniently, I had forgotten that Muslims (the companions, not just ordinary Muslims) were killing each other by the thousands not 30 years after the death of the Prophet.

Anyway, here I was, in a city all by myself and I went to an Islamic bookshop and the first book I got was Sufism in Light of Quran and Sunnah. It was mentioned to me by my best friend the previous year and the title itself was so inviting. I was very passionate about Sufism at the time and so, a book such as this was very inviting.

The book was nothing like what I expected. Instead, it was a Wahabi attack on Sufism (A Wahabi?! what’s that? I didnt even know back then). The attack was nowhere near effective. It was just convoluted reasoning with half-verses and vague hadiths.

The whole point of this muse though, is about honesty. Was the author of this book right to call it ‘Sufism in light of Quran and Sunnah‘ ? I dont think he was. I think he was dishonest. He should have stuck to the Wahabi’s moniker for themselves , the ‘Salafiyah’. I would then be made to ask, who are these Salafiyah and then I would know exactly who they were.

Quranists must never fall into this strategy of deception. By calling ourselves ‘Muslim’ without any qualification (like ‘Quranic Muslims’ or ‘Quranists’), we are fixing to decieve others into ‘sampling our product’, whether we intended it or not.

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

2 Responses to The Deception of ‘Sufism in Light of Quran and Sunnah’

  1. Asfora says:

    Same happened to me with “A Christian’s Pocket Guide to Islam” by Patrick Sookhdeo

  2. Pingback: The Deception of 'Sufism in Light of Quran and Sunnah' « Quranist … | Find Best Information about Islam on Internet

Leave a Reply

