Ir-religious Tolerance


Today I learned you can access Yahoo! Answers using facebook. I logged in and asked the first question.

Why do *some* Muslims treat people of other beliefs harshly?

I’m a Quran Alone believer, and had a hard time explaining that to my “friends”. Some of them argued back but did not leave me, but others were enraged. Many people around me began giving me “hints” that I am somewhat disgusting, disturbed and off the “path”, when I have never mentioned to any of them or even slightly suggested THEY may be wrong – I wanted to be respected back.

Many abused me for this. Some people stopped saying “salamualaikum” to me. They disdained me for taking off my headcover. They started rumors about me. They told me I was “wrong”, and they were “right”. They insisted that I was NOT following the Quran. They claim I deny the Prophet Muhammed. Some of them even asked me whether I believe in him or not, which is rather rude.

This doesn’t seem like the religious tolerance the Quran teaches [from my perspective].

  • 19 minutes ago
  • 1 week left to answer.

Additional Details

I am not of a whole different religion, but simply reject what they call a “second” source of Islamic law, called Al Hadith, which is were most wrong ideas about Islam come from. Hadith teaches pedophilia to some degree, it demeans women and puts a band on human rights. I couldn’t see how that was from God in any way, and there were never enough historical or logical evidence to suggest Hadith has to be part of my faith.

Muslims who seek to be exclusive in afterlife reward and seek to be superior in this life by their belief [which remains no better than other beliefs] are not so Muslims to me anymore. A Muslim to me would be someone seeking to reform and mend society. It simply became evident to me that preaching hatred is not the same as preaching God. They preach hatred.

A few minutes later, I got quite some answers. Kind of shocking for a first question. One of the questions was a deadly strike (against the intolerant Muslims, not against me):

You mean you are a Quranist? Your not disgusting and this is not a hint, there is only ONE Islam and if you follow the Quran alone what happened to where in the Quran its instructed to follow our Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) ie the Sunnah and Hadiths?
Quran instructs you to cover your head, so if you are a Quranist why ignore that also? You do not think it rude however to reject Allah’s instruction in the Quran to follow the Prophet though correct?

Your perspective is not Islam, Islam does not change for people, people change for Islam. There is no altering Islam and there is no ”hint” intended I am telling you straight as your sister in Islam you are going down a wrong path sister, get back on the right one before its too late, for yourself, not for me or other Muslims but for you.

•Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and beware (of evil): if ye do turn back, know ye that it is Our Messenger’s duty to proclaim (the Message) in the clearest manner. (5: 92).

•O ye who believe! obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you. If ye differ in anything among yourselves, refer it to Allah and His Messenger, if ye do believe in Allah and the Last Day: that is best, and most suitable for final determination. (4: 59).

•Say: “Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger: but if ye turn away, he is only responsible for the duty placed on him and ye for that placed on you. If ye obey him, ye shall be on right guidance.(24: 54).

•And whoever obeys Allâh and His Messenger, Allâh shall admit him in the Gardens underneath which rivers flow. (4:13).

•And whoever obeys Allâh and His Messenger, he has won a great success. (33:71).

•And we sent no messenger, but that he should be obeyed by the leave of Allâh. (4:64)

So I decided that religious tolerance turns to utter bullsh*t  when you’re surrounded with people who claim to hold the one and ultimate key to truth.

About revolutionpsyche
I have inner peace. Do you have inner peace? No, you just wouldn't understand.

Leave a Reply

