Conversation with a Semi QF’ist


It seems that Quranic Fundamentalists can never get past the ‘interpretation paradigm’. They think they ‘read the Quran’ while others ‘interpret’.  This particular QF’ist is only half fundamentalist in that he accepts the other Muslims are in fact Muslim. Good for him. Here is the conversation:

Semi QF’ist : You know it doesn’t matter I’m not calling myself anything other than what Allah calls us and that is Muslim. Feel free to call yourselves Quranist all you want soon they will be people calling themselves Tawhidist…I’m not putting myself …in a box of sectarianism feeling the need to make a distinction.

Farouk: Please don’t get delusions of grandeur here, Kidr. No one is trying to persuade you to do anything. I am using this conversation to see if there are angles you guys can come up with. There is none.

 Semi QF’ist: Yes, there are other ways according to the Qur’an to getting to the straight path but Quranist are no different from Traditionalist, Sunnis, Shites in that all of the groups, Hizb, rejoice to “that which is with itself” and this only refers to those differences which you Quranist and other sects use to justify your separation from Islam and now the Quranist have your own definitions and rules and conditions but who makes the rules, defintions and conditions is the question.

F: So you’re calling us MUSHRIKEEN by quoting that passage (30/31-32). Wow. It seems that you have a strong allergy to actually reading the Quran. You seem to quoting phrases totally out of context. Here is the actual context:

Turning in repentance to Him, and fear Him and establish prayer and do not be of those who associate others with Allah
of those who have **divided their deen** and become sects, every faction rejoicing in what it has. (30/31-32)

Are you saying those who follow the Quran divide the DEEN? I don’t rejoice in what I have. I am constantly seeking new knowledge. In fact, that’s the purpose of Quranism, to accept every single approach to the Quran. You have misapplied the verse by ignoring the context.

Semi QF’ist: Regardless if Sunnis, Shites, Salafis and other sects claim other than Muslim if they say they are Muslim that is between them and Allah. However, I will still look at them as Muslims because Islam is a single brotherhood not parts and pieces beginning with labels and names.

Farouk: So this means that there are MANY kind of Muslims. Good. I salute you for saying that. Single brotherhood is not the opposite of having labels. That’s your misreading. (this is where he’s better than full QF’ists).

Semi QF’ist: Farouk, I find you making mockery or just rather being foolish now with dogma saying I’m the new owner of the Qur’an. I don’t have a name calling myself Quranist, I’m not the leader of any groups calling myself this or that I’m just a servant of Allah, a Muslim trying my best to practice this deen of Islam to the best of my ability. I’m not of need of followers. I don’t have a interpretation of my own so please stop with your foolish talk. Yet, you said I follow Salafis in the word ‘manhaj’ and then you was sarcastic about it ——> lol <——- this is what you ended it with.
Farouk: Having a name doesn’t make you a sect. Your attitude however makes you a sectarian. You say ‘I don’t have an interpretation of my own’ which shows your delusion. In every post you quote half the Quran! By simply quoting you are levying an interpretation. You quoted 30/31-32 earlier saying I am creating a hizb. What do you think that is? That’s an interpretation! So please don’t delude yourself into thinking you don’t interpret. This is the problem with fundamentalists, they think they got a ‘literal reading’ where this is simply impossible.

 Semi QF’ist: “rejoice to that which is with itself””rejoice to that which is with itself”

Farouk: Don’t quote half verses, bro. Do you know what the Quran says about those who take the Quran as shreds?! See 15/90-91.

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

Leave a Reply

