Getting the Pledge Right…


Today, I was told that ‘Do you say: ” Lailaha Illah” ? after that, do you say: “Muhammadur Rasulullah”? If you do not say so, then you are Not Muslims at all”.

Bit harsh I reckon. My reponse was:

 Do I have to say ‘laa ilaha illa Allah’ and ‘muhammad rasulullah’ at the same time? If not, i’m fine

To tell you the truth, I have no problem saying it. I’m not a Submitter who deems such a statement as shirk (which is pure bunkum). It’s your intent which makes the pledge shirk. Most Traditionalists don’t even think of the implications, so…Anyway, my friend continues:

You need to Pronounce in full: ” Lailaha Illallah Muhammadur Rasulullah”. Otherwise, you are Not Muslims. You are Excluded from Muslim Ummah. You will be labelled as Munafiq. Nauzubillah. Let Allah protect all True Muslims from all Fallacies in their Faith/ Iman in Allah & His Rasul. Ameen !

That’s very interesting. The pledge makes me NOT a munafiq. It just occured to me that the Quran says:

When the MUNAFIQEEN come to you they say, “We testify that you are the Messenger of Allah .” And Allah knows that you are His Messenger, and Allah testifies that the hypocrites are liars. (63/1)

It seems even the munafiqeen can say the pledge! Anyway, here is my actual response:

Oh I never say it in full. Cause it’s never arranged that way in the Quran

This is actually incorrect. I say it in full when I pray (irregularly, I might add). My friend then responded:

If you do not believe that. You should not discuss on this Topic with me. Please never reply to my views. I will not respond to your ” Quranology

Believe? who said anything about believing? I’m talking about the actual pledge. Nothing to do with my beliefs! I then responded:

Oh i believe in both the oneness of Allah and the messengership of Muhammad. I just don’t see the pledge anywhere in the Quran.

Let me ask you this: in all the stories of the messnengers in the Quran, can you show me the pledge even once? Like with Nuh, did Nuh tell them to say ‘laa ilaha illa Allah Nuh Rasulullah’? If you can’t find it, why do you say it in this formula?

Of course, then came the Prophet Of Doom speech but still no answer! He said:

Group & the people. All of you are here Online to disclaim Prophet Muhammad (sas). I will never treat you all as Muslims as you vehemently oppose our Prophet. The so-called Muslims who oppose & also condemn our Prophet, can never be Muslims. Shame for the people who use the names of the Muslims and condemn our Prophet. Nauzubillah. Curse of Allah be upon all of you.

Zero proof. But curse you anyway, thanks a lot, pal 😛

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

Leave a Reply

