Some notes on the ahl al kitab


I have now blogged the study of the ahl al-kitab phrase from chapters 2 and 3. Thanks to the concordance of the Quran, I was able to see that this phrase is heavily used in chapters 2-5 then drops off completely till ch 29! What does this tell us?

To me, since the proper name ‘al’ is used in ahl AL kitab, it shows for one thing there is a variety of ideas which are equated to ‘kitab’, mostly to do with commands and systems. More so, these kitabs are predominant in chapters 2-5. Perhaps chapters 2-5 are a group in that sense. After all, their tone is markedly different from the next chapter, ch 6.

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

Leave a Reply

