The Unsurpassed People of Luth


Interesting point by Manuel on QRAC today: I have been thinking about the story of Lut. When he goes around and tells the people of Sodom: “You are comitting an inmorality that no people in history has done before you”. I sometimes interpret this ayah as him meaning that they were the first people in history to engage in homosexual behaviour as an entire village. I mean, it is obvious that there were people who engaged homosexual behaviour before (and after) the people of Sodom, but possibly, they were the first ones to have all the townsfolk engaging into this kind of behaviour.

Here’s my take on it: I take ‘”You are comitting an inmorality that no people in history has done before you” in terms of severity of the crime. In other words, there is no one worse than the people of luth. I don’t believe this is homosexuality either but rather an extreme oppression which even Pharoah didnt practise.

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

Leave a Reply

