Diversity in Islam


Muslims have the delusion that there is only one Islam (their own version of course). Manuel raised a very interesting point in QRAC today:

The other day I talked with a Muslim (Sunni) via online, and then he started to tell me about the differences between Christianity and Islam. He told me that Christianity is too fragmented, that they don´t form a homogeneous group, that it looks like everybody can set up the rules they can. I then realized that Muslims are not an homogeneous group, and actually, never have been: We have the Sunni (which is divided into four mahdabs, that have different rules) and the Shia (which are divided in several more sects: Twelvers, Ismaliism, Alevis, etc) classic, but also we have us(the Quranists), the Ahmadi, the Sufis, the Salafis/Wahabbis… actually, it made me feel good to realize that Muslims are a so diverse group.

I quite agree. I prefer us to retain our individuality rather than be a bunch of zombies.

About Farouk A. Peru
I am a human being in the world, blogging my existence. My thought systems may be found in my website: www.farouk.name

One Response to Diversity in Islam

  1. world peace says:

    Salam aleacom

    Beloved Prophet Mohammad (peace be upon him)
    http://www.rasoulallah.net/

    Islam: Beautiful religion
    http://theradiantlight.blogspot.com/
    http://www.islamreligion.com/

    Wasalam aleacom

Leave a Reply

