All in the Quran


After listening to Taylor’s beautiful song from the other day, I was totally inspired to have a go at getting back into doing a bit of singing! Thank you Taylor if you are reading this! Alhamdulillah it’s been a fun experience! 🙂 It’s been a long time since I used to sing, and not at all in a professional capacity, but I used to really enjoy it and thought I’d like to try to use the backing track from one of my recent favourite tunes “Just a dream” (the version by Sam Tsui and Christina Grimmie) and adapt the lyrics with my own words… well this is how my humble effort  turned out LOL – the lyrics are below and the mp3 is here – you have to right click and press “save link as” to download – I don’t know how to make it play online. It’s on youtube as well but the audio quality on there is quite muffled.

All in the Quran (lyrics)

Thinking ’bout life,
Thinking ’bout love,
Thinking ’bout God
All of the above
Opened my eyes
It’s all in the Quran

So I come back
To the Word of God
His Noble Words
Are all I’ve got
I realized
It’s all in the Quran

When I’m working I swear
I get reminded all the time
I’m trying to concentrate
I hear these words that rhyme
God knows I’m thinking and I’m hearing Him loud and clear

I been doubting in myself
And wondering where this path will take me
Now I got no doubt cos I feel it all just lately
Here in my heart
It was easy once I tried
But Why
Did I wait this long to try?

People tell me sister don’t give up hadith
And don’t reject the sunnah cos we got these set beliefs
But I tried and I know that somethin just ain’t right
And I feel that I’m living in a double life, A lie

(Thinking ’bout) life,
Thinking ’bout love
Thinking ’bout God
All of the above
Opened my eyes
It’s all in the Quran
So I come back
To the Word of God
His Noble Words
Are all I’ve got
All this time
It’s all in the Quran

When I’m praying I beg for a double dose of patience
Guidance and strength and forgiveness for my conscience
Mmmm
It’s peaceful to my soul
I know
I got no other way to go

The people that I know from my past are gonna hate me
Maybe not all of them
And some of them gonn’ pray for me
But wait, 
I gotta do this thing
It’s my life, it’s my struggle
So I’ll strive

Prophetic examples needn’t be so hard to find
If you know just where to look
It’s easy to combine
Your reason and your logic and
To ponder and reflect
And please don’t tell me
That it’s just another sect!

Thinking ’bout life,
Thinking ’bout love,
Thinking ’bout God
All of the above
Open your eyes
It’s all in the Quran!
So come back
To the Word of God!
His Noble Words
Are all we’ve got
All this time
it’s all in the Quran!

If you’ve ever been confused put your hands up
If you’ve ever been bemused put your hands up
Now it’s clear and you feel you wanna start over again

If you’ve ever been confused put your hands up
If you’ve ever been bemused put your hands up
Now it’s clear and you feel you wanna start ALL over again

(Thinking bout life,) thinking bout love, thinking bout God
All of the above
Open your eyes
It’s all in the Quran!
So come back
To the Word of God!
His Noble Words
Are all we’ve got
All this time
It’s all in the Quran!

If you can relate to these lyrics, please join QRAC – Quranists Reverts and Converts Support Network on Facebook

Original backing music info for copyright purposes: (from Wikipedia) “Just a Dream” is a song performed by American recording artist Nelly, taken from his sixth studio album 5.0 (2010). The song was written by Nelly, Rico Love, Jim Jonsin and Frank Romano with Jonsin and Love producing the song.[1] No copyright infringement intended.

“All in the Quran” lyrics adapted by Asfora Safarina based on the rhythm and style as per the version by Sam Tsui and Christina Grimmie.

copyright disclaimer:

2 Responses to All in the Quran

  1. Mushu says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Robert Fisk says:

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

