Don’t label me


There are some people out there trying to undermine the term “quranism”, by encouraging people to say they are “just muslim”  (imo this is deceptive). My emotional response is this: (not being snarky, just trying to make a point)

Don’t Label Me.
I am not a “mother”. I am just a person  (But I do have parental responsibilities and go to Mother and Toddler groups)
Don’t label me!
I am not a woman, I am just a person (But I do use the womens bathroom)
Don’t label me!
I am not a “Stay-At-Home-Mom” or a “SAHM”, I am just a person. (But I do have kids and I am at home during the day)
I am not an “adult”. I am just a person (But I am over the age of 18.)
Don’t label me!
I am not a “sister”. I am just a person. (But I do have brothers)
Don’t label me!
I am not a “daughter”. I am just a person (but I do have parents)
Don’t label me!
I am not “lactose intolerant”. I am just a person. (But please don’t give me dairy products as I suffer allergic reactions)
Don’t label me!
I am not an “aunty”. I am just a person. (But my brother has a kid, yeah my nephew…)
Don’t label me!
I am not a “student”. I am just a person. (But I do study and I have a Student Discount Card)
Don’t label me!
I am not a “non-smoker”. I am just a person. (But yeah I will take the non smoking room thanks cos I don’t smoke.)
I am not “Asthmatic”. I am just a person. (But please help me get my asthma medicine urgently if I start having an asthma attack.)
Don’t label me!

2 Responses to Don’t label me

  1. Isabelle says:

    Hahahaha. It is funny as hell. Yeah true there are some Quran alone muslims who are against and allergic to this word. Thanks for this entry.

    • Asfora says:

      lol thanks, glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

